Ali Day upstaged in surf premiership

Terrigal's Jack Moyes upstaged home-town favourite Ali Day in Saturday's final round of the Sydney Water Surf Premiership at Warilla beach.

Former Warilla-Barrack Point junior star Day, now competing for Queensland club Mooloolaba, was making his only appearance of the series since winning the prestigious Coolangatta Gold in October.

Despite being favoured to win the ironman, he was unable to overcome the tenacious Moyes, who narrowly won after a sprint-finish between the pair.

"It's great to be back home competing at Warilla," Day said. "It'd be great to be able to have the local lifestyle of the Illawarra on the Sunshine Coast."

Moyes' final-round win secured him the overall series crown in the ironman. He also came second in the swim point-score and third in the board.

Elouera's Tom O'Keefe claimed the swim title, Cronulla's Hayden Allum topped the board standings and Newport's Max Brooks won the board championship.

Helensburgh-Stanwell Park's Blake Drysdale finished the series with a bang, taking out Saturday's open men's beach sprint and flags double.

Drysdale was a clear overall winner in both point-scores.

Finishing second overall in the sprint was Drysdale's clubmate Daniel McKellar.

Also shining for Helensburgh-Stanwell Park was Laura Humphries, who captured the open women's beach flags title.

Bulli's Hannah Minogue was the overall winner in both the open women's swim and ski, while Manly's Candice Falzon claimed the ironwoman and board crowns.

More than $45,000 in prizemoney was collected and officials expect the annual series to continue to grow.


Open Female Ironperson

1. Candice Falzon - Manly

2. Naomi Flood - Manly

3. Tara Coleman - Maroubra

Open Female Board

1. Candice Falzon - Manly

2. Mieke Kassulke - Manly

3. Rachel Crerar - Manly

Open Female Ski

1. Hannah Minogue - Bulli

2. Candice Falzon - Manly

3. Tahnee Fleming - Wanda

Open Female Swim

1. Hannah Minogue - Bulli

2. Candice Falzon - Manly

3. Taylor Puskaric - Wanda

Open Female Sprint

1. Laura Shorter - Queenscliff

2. Bree Masters - Cronulla

3. Kaitlin Mott – Helensburgh Stanwell Park

Open Female Flags

1. Laura Humphries – Helensburgh Stanwell Park

2. Bree Masters - Cronulla

3. Siobhan Dibley – Cronulla

Open Male Ironperson

1. Jack Moyes - Terrigal

2. Hayden Allum - Cronulla

3. Dane Farrell - Elouera

Open Male Board

1. Max Brooks - Newport

2. Matt Bevalacqua - Mooloolaba

3. Jack Moyes - Terrigal

Open Male Ski

1. Hayden Allum - Cronulla

2. Chris Kilmurray - Bronte

3. Scott Smith - Warilla

Open Male Swim

1. Tom O’Keefe - Elouera

2. Jack Moyes - Terrigal

3. Mitch Fagerstrom - Bulli

Open Male Sprint

1. Blake Drysdale – Helensburgh Stanwell Park

2. Daniel Mackellar – Helensburgh Stanwell Park

3. Jake O’Brien – Avoca

Open Male Flags

1. Blake Drysdale – Helensburgh Stanwell Park

2. Jake O’Brien - Avoca

3. Robert McIntyre - Terrigal

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide