FFA honours Illawarra quartet


Four greats of Illawarra football have been honoured in FFA’s teams of the decade, named to mark 50 years of membership with world body FIFA.

World Cup representatives Luke Wilkshire and Scott Chipperfield were named among the most recent team from 2000-2013, while Wollongong Wolves title-winning coach Ron Corry, a former Australian goalkeeper, was picked as the goalkeeper of the 1963-70 group.

Adrian Alston was selected as a forward for Australia’s team of 1971-80.

It came as the man who helped put Australia into its first football World Cup and a goal scorer against Brazil, were inducted into FFA’s Hall of Fame.

Former Socceroo James Fraser and Matilda Sunni Hughes were welcomed to Australian football’s top tier at a ceremony in Melbourne yesterday, alongside eight ‘‘teams of the decade’’.

Fraser was Australia’s goalkeeper during qualification for the 1974 World Cup.

He missed the World Cup finals campaign because of business interests in Australia, a decision he says he regrets every day.

Hughes, named in the Matildas team of the 90s, also represented at the Sydney Olympics where she scored against Brazil. - AAP

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide