Sunset Cinema returns to Botanic Garden

As cinema-goers around the country head to watch blockbusters in the traditional Boxing Day rush, Illawarra movie lovers are being encouraged to head outdoors.

The IMB Sunset Cinema will return to Wollongong Botanic Garden for the third year running, kicking off with romantic, feel-good flick About Time the day after Christmas.

A big screen set out under the stars will be complemented by live music, beanbags, gourmet food and a fully licensed bar to create a festival-style atmosphere three nights a week during summer.

For the opening night, this year's Australia's Got Talent finalists Greg Gould and the Chase will entertain the crowd.

Movies on offer include kid-friendly tales such as Walking With Dinosaurs and Despicable Me 2 every Friday night.

Brand new blockbusters and much-loved classics such as Top Gun, Grease and Dirty Dancing will also be screening.

Films will screen each Thursday, Friday and Saturday night until February 15.

For full details and ticket sales, see here.

Sunset cinema program

• Thursday, December 26: About Time

• Friday, December 27: Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs

• Saturday, December 28: Top Gun

• Thursday, January 2: Thor: The Dark World

• Friday, January 3: Turbo

• Saturday, January 4: Gravity

• Thursday, January 9: The Spectacular Now

• Friday, January 10: Despicable Me 2

• Saturday, January 11: Dirty Dancing

• Thursday, January 16: The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

• Friday, January 17: Grease

• Saturday, January 18: The Great Gatsby

• Thursday, January 23: We’re The Millers

• Friday, January 24: Walking With Dinosaurs

• Saturday, January 25: Anchorman 2

• Thursday, January 30: Delivery Man

• Friday, January 31: Free Birds

• Saturday, February 1: August: Osage Country

• Thursday, February 6: Rush

• Friday, February 7: Saving Mr Banks

• Saturday, February 8: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

• Thursday, February 13: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

• Friday, February 14: About Time

• Saturday, February 15: American Hustle

Smartphone
Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide
Desktop