Seven honorary doctorates awarded by UOW

Seven worthy recipients with ties to the Illawarra were awarded honorary doctorates by the University of Wollongong as part of last week's graduations.

Among the recipients were Chief of the Defence Force and former Port Kembla resident General David Hurley, who received an honorary Doctor of Letters degree, as did businessman Christopher Abbott in part for his work with the university to develop the Early Start project.

Justice Virginia Bell, a justice of the High Court of Australia, was awarded an honorary Doctor of Laws, while Mark Cutifani, CEO of mining company Anglo American, was awarded an honorary Doctor of Business Administration.

Emeritus Professor John Hogg, who was the foundation dean of the university's medical school, was awarded a posthumous honorary Doctor of Science.

NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer Professor Mary O'Kane and Professor Tom Johansen were also awarded honorary Doctor of Science degrees for their commitment to research.

Honorary doctorates are awarded to individuals who have given outstanding service to the university, shown outstanding scholarship, given significant service at a national or international level and/or have contributed to the university through reputation and engagement activities.

Professor O'Kane said it was an honour to be recognised for her work, which includes time as chair of the Australian Centre for Renewable Energy and on the board of the ITC, now UOW Enterprises, which oversees the University of Wollongong in Dubai.

"It's a tremendous honour, and a particular honour to get from the University of Wollongong because it's one of Australia's hidden gem universities," she said.

She said she there had been many career highlights, particularly the chances to be involved in strong research teams.

Professor O'Kane encouraged more women to pursue engineering.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide