Big guns firing at South Pacific carnival


Five players remain in contention for all three South Pacific titles as big guns John Green and Shane Garvey set up a dream fours semi-final with two strong wins in yesterday’s post-sectional rounds.

Defending singles champion Green, and Garvey, the five-time player of the carnival and reigning pairs champion, steered their teams into Friday’s semi-final.

Illawarra singles champion Brett Pieper and Chris Green also skipped composite teams to two knockout wins yesterday  and will meet in the other fours semi-final.

 Garvey, John Green, his pairs partner Michael Clarke, plus Pieper and 15-year-old Dylan Skinner are now the only players still alive in singles, pairs and fours.

 The post-sectional round of singles begins this morning at headquarters Warilla and also Windang BC, while following a New Year’s Day breather the carnival returns with knockout pairs on Thursday. In yesterday’s fours, Eric Johannes won a thriller against Jared Hamilton (Bulli) in round one.

Johannes led 11-10 on the final end but after being down two shots was able to kill the end with a superb final bowl.

 Johannes then won the re-played end to seal a place in round two, but his composite team’s run ended in a 14-13 defeat to Wiseman Park’s Col Cheadle.

  Pieper and partners Jarrod Beckford, Alan Jones and Robin Smith beat Cheadle 17-10 in their quarter-final after Pieper rallied from 11-2 down to beat Geoff Barron 18-13 in round two.

‘‘At 11-2 down, I didn’t think it would go the 15 ends and there was no way we’d be playing in the afternoon round,’’ Pieper said.

‘‘One shot turned it around and we might have won seven straight ends to get through.

‘‘My three teammates played really well in round three and gave me an armchair ride.’’

 While Robin Smith plays Grade 1 for Wiseman Park, Jarrod Beckford has only been playing bowls for nine months at Figtree RSL and played Grade 7 pennants last season, while Alan Jones is also an improving Grade 4 player at Figtree RSL.

  ‘‘It’s a real good effort to get to the semis and who knows what can happen from here?’’ Pieper said.

  Meanwhile, Chris Green and partners Jono Davis, Jamie Thelander and Skinner followed up a tense 11-10 win over Robbie Warren in their round-two clash yesterday with a surprisingly easy 17-5 win over Warilla’s Jeremy Henry.

 Garvey and his clubmates Jason Cheadle, Mick Japundza and Anthony Moran were pushed hard in their quarter-final by veteran Ernie Ronald before winning 13-10.

In round two, Garvey beat Ian Barrett (Albion Park) 21-7 while John Green and his partners Peter Freestone, Barry Martin and Michael Clarke beat Paul Leckey (Harbord) 13-5 in round two and then Phil Argue’s Windang side 18-11 in their quarter-final.

Argue and his team edged out Albion Park’s Mark Walton 13-12 in a terrific round-two match.

In the singles today,  

Bulli’s Warren Hamilton is up against Warilla’s Geoff McGillivray and Steve Glasson (Mt Lewis) is taking on Bulli’s Steve Cheney at Warilla BC.

 At Windang BC, defending champion John Green faces Revesby Workers’ Steve Jessep.




Brett Pieper (skip) v Chris Green (skip)

Shane Garvey (skip) v  John Green (skip)




Aaron Spears (Warilla) v Greg Jones (Fairy Meadow) 

Mathew Searle (Merrylands) v David Tyrrell (Windang) 

Aaron Teys (Warilla) v Robbie Baker (Shellharbour) 

Jeremy Henry (Warilla) v Pedro Torres (Figtree RSL) 

Dylan Skinner (Mt Lewis) v Peter Carter (Dapto) 

Garry Taylor (Shellharbour) v Geoff Stuart (Dapto Citz)

Frank Direnzo (F Meadow) v Jason Cheadle (Wiseman Pk) 

Ian Baird (Kiama) v Scott Bateup (Wiseman Pk) 

Len Levini (Bomaderry) v Jordan Taylor (Wiseman Pk) Peter Grubb (F Meadow) v Jamie Nabbe (Warilla) 

Paul Sweeny (Corrimal) v Shane Garvey (Wiseman Pk) Mathew McIntyre (Warilla) v Brian Osborne (Bulli) 

Alan West (Oak Flats) v Mal Lyons (Towradgi) 

Jono Davis (Dubbo Rail) v John Jovevski (Figtree RSL)

Warren Hamilton (Bulli) v Geoff McGillivray (Warilla) 

Neville Denham (F Meadow) v Jamie Mitchell (Wiseman Pk) 

Emrys Owen (Bellambi) v Murray Chapman (Taren Point)

Brett Pieper (Figtree RSL) v Jack Chapman (Taren Point)

Steve Glasson (Mt Lewis) v Steve Cheney (Bulli) 

Andrew Swan (Wenty Leagues) v Reagan Marmont (Corrimal)


Ben Glasson (Mt Lewis) v Alan Smith (Gymea) 

Peter Freestone (Terrigal) v Jim Hamilton (Hervey Bay) 

John Green (Taren Point) v Steve Jessup (Revesby Work)

Warren Hopley (Mounties) v Sean Love (The Hills) 

Jeff Smith (Cabramatta) v Dave Wakeling (Towradgi) 

Damien Lateo (Towradgi) v Michael Clarke (Cabramatta)


Six players had round-1 bye and meet at Windang (11am)

Kevin Walker (Woonona) v Ethan Mills (St Johns Pk) 

James Jones (Thirroul) v Jamie Johanson (Towradgi) 

Rod Busst (Towradgi) v Jim Davies (Corrimal) 

All round-1 winners meet at either Warilla or Windang.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide