Key clashes feature in Cup crusade


Four Illawarra Premier League clubs continue their preparation for the new season with a double-header in the Fraternity Club Cup tomorrow at Tarrawanna Oval.

Dapto Dandaloo take on Cringila from 1.30pm, followed by the other Group A clash between Premier League champions Port Kembla against Albion Park White Eagles (3pm).

Following last Sunday's rain-marred start to the Fraternity Club Cup in the District League, the group stage and semi-finals will be played today at Memorial Park, Corrimal.

The rain interruptions mainly affected groups C & D played at Ian McLennan Park while groups A & B were completed, with Shell Cove FC topping Group A and Thirroul winning Group B.

Shell Cove and Thirroul will meet in today's first semi-final (2pm).

The full schedule for today's District League group matches is Kemblawarra v Southern Branch (9.50am); Wests Illawarra v Berkeley Sports (10.40am); Balgownie Rangers v Kiama Quarriers (11.30am); Kemblawarra v Port Kembla Pumas (12.20pm); Warilla Wanderers v Southern Branch (1.10pm).

The second semi-final featuring the winners of Group C and Group D is from 3.15pm.

The District League Frat Cup final is next Sunday, March 2 at Tarrawanna Oval.

Meanwhile, final preparations continue ahead of the Illawarra Premier League's All Stars' inaugural clash against South Coast Wolves on Wednesday night at Crehan Park, Cringila.

Premiership-winning Port Kembla coach Stuart Beedie named a 16-man squad from nine IPL clubs to take on the region's top side.

Kick-off on Wednesday night is 7.45pm.

The All-Stars squad is: David Poiera, Daniel Aliffi, Carlo Stella (Port Kembla), Mitchell Young, Ricky Goodchild (Tarrawanna), Guy Knight, Brendan Fordham (Bulli), Chris Bush, David Hartas (Dapto Dandaloo), Tobin Zoomers (Fernhill), Dominic Magill (Cringila Lions), Harvey Rodriguez (APWE), Kyle Hazebroek, Jake Duczynski (Wollongong Olympic), Robbie Shields, Brian Montanari (Wollongong United).

Finally, Football South Coast will launch the new season next Friday with 1974 Socceroos World Cup coach Rale Rasic and players Adrian Alston, Jim Fraser and Max Tolson special guests.

The 1974 Socceroos were the first to qualify for a World Cup.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide