Warilla, Thirroul and Towradgi bowlers dominate in senior singles


Warilla, Thirroul and Towradgi bowlers dominate the business end of the Illawarra Senior Singles Championship with a combined 10 representatives in the round of 16.

Warilla have four bowlers in contention for the over-60s title, while Towradgi and Thirroul had three players each advance to the final 16 following weekend's knockout rounds.

One round of 16 spot has yet to be determined with Corrimal's Jack Forbes taking on Towradgi's Norm Flanagan on Friday.

Top Warilla Grade 1 bowlers Ted Clarke and Geoff McGillivray made it through and are drawn to meet in the semi-finals while Shellharbour's Mal Pearson, Thirroul's Barry Hazlegrove and Towradgi's Rob Nugent are also in contention for the title.

Nugent was involved in one of the best matches of the early rounds, surviving 31-30 against Kiama's Andrew Anstey in round two.

The round of 16 on Saturday morning is at Towradgi BC and Figtree RSL; the quarter-finals are at both clubs that afternoon.

The semi-finals and final are at Dapto Citizens on Sunday.

Finally, the quarter-finalists have been determined in the President Reserve Singles for pennant bowlers in grades 5-7.

The quarter-final draw at Dapto Citizens on Saturday is: Andrew Mackie (Windang) v Brian Godfrey (Albion Park); John Rolfe (Oak Flats) v Jamie Nabbe (Warilla); Geoff Christie (Shellharbour) v Mark Alhovirta (Oak Flats) and Scott Davidson (Wiseman Park) v Shane O'Neill (Warilla).

The semi-finals and final are at Dapto Citizens on Sunday, along with the open and senior singles finals.