Barba cleans up at Dally M Awards

Canterbury fullback Ben Barba was crowned the Dally M player of the year to cap off a memorable outing for the Bulldogs last night.

Barba, who finished the season with 32 votes, pipped Matt Bowen (26), Cooper Cronk (25) and Johnathan Thurston (24).

He also won the Provan-Summons medal (people’s choice award), was named fullback of the year and shared leading try-scorer honours with the Cowboys’ Ashley Graham.

The Bulldogs also took out the coach of the year, with Des Hasler earning praise for leading the club to the minor premiership.

Sam Kasiano was named prop of the year, while fellow Bulldog Josh Morris, who last year was sent back to the NSW Cup, won centre of the year.

Bulldogs Toyota Cup prop David Klemmer was named player of the year in the under-20s competition.

Newcastle’s Akuila Uate was named on the wing in the Dally M team of the year, with Cronk partnering Thurston in the halves.

Paul Gallen (lock), Nate Myles (second-row) and Cameron Smith (hooker) rounded out the forwards.Myles also claimed the Wally Lewis medal for the representative player of the year.

Souths halfback Adam Reynolds was unsurprisingly crowned rookie of the year. Manly’s Jason King and Jamie Lyon shared captain of the year.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide