Kiama councillors elect Mark Honey as new mayor

Mark Honey.

Mark Honey.

The Kiama municipality’s civic leadership roles have a new look. 

Following the local government elections earlier this month, Kiama councillors met on Tuesday evening to elect a new mayor and deputy mayor. 

Re-elected councillor Mark Honey was voted mayor, while fellow returning councillor Kathy Rice was voted deputy mayor. 

In a secret ballot based on preferential voting, Cr Honey received five votes, with Crs Neil Reilly and Matt Brown gaining two each. 

Previous mayor Brian Petschler didn’t seek re-election at the September 10 poll. 

Cr Rice defeated previous deputy Warren Steel and Mark Way.

The initial count was Cr Rice (four votes), Cr Steel (four) and Cr Way (one). Cr Rice was elected with five after preferences. 

The NSW Parliament recently passed amendments to the Local Government Act. As part of the amendments the term of office for a mayor elected by councillors has been increased to two years. The council also determined the term of the deputy mayor role would be two years. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide