Bowling master inducted into Hall of Fame 

Albion Park bowls legend Brett Duprez has had his outstanding career officially honoured by being inducted into Bowls NSW's John Young Hall of Fame.

Duprez, who was elected as a director to the Bowls Australia board last December, and former national coach Cameron Curtis were honoured at the Players' Award Night for their contribution to state and national bowls.

Duprez represented Australia at the under-25 level from 1994 to 1998 before playing for his nation at a senior level until 2005, where he notched up 150 international appearances.

Among a host of honours during his career, Duprez claimed a gold medal in pairs at the 1998 Kuala Lumpur Commonwealth Games, and won gold and silver at the 1999 Asia Pacific Championships, silver at the 2004 World Championships, and a bronze medal at the 2000 World Championships, the last helping Australia clinch the coveted Leonard Trophy for the best performed men's country.

Albion Park bowler Brett Duprez has been inducted into Bowls NSW’s Hall of Fame.

Albion Park bowler Brett Duprez has been inducted into Bowls NSW’s Hall of Fame.

At state level, Duprez racked up more than 214 matches for the Blues, which included capturing the Alley Shield on four occasions at the Australian Sides Championships; in 2000 and 2003-2005.

The Albion Park star also claimed the NSW State Triples in 1994, the Champion of Club Champions Pairs in 1995 and Champion of Club Champion Singles in 1999.

Inaugural Bowls Australia Hall of Fame member Cameron Curtis burst onto the bowls scene as a 15-year-old prodigy and made his state debut at 19.

Up until 2012, Curtis also held the record as the youngest male bowler to represent Australia, as a 21 year-old.

Curtis went on to become Australia's first full-time paid national coach from 2004 to 2009, coaching the green and gold contingent to its greatest medal haul, at the 2006 Melbourne Commonwealth Games.

At the awards night, Curtis and Australia A-squad member Carl Healey were named co-winners of the 2012 NSW Bowler of the Year award. The pair teamed up to win three state titles last year.


Discuss "Bowling master inducted into Hall of Fame "

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.