Warilla prevail in Night Fours final


Aaron Teys in action during his triumph in the South Pacific singles in January. Picture: KIRK GILMOUR

Aaron Teys in action during his triumph in the South Pacific singles in January. Picture: KIRK GILMOUR

Warilla continued their strong start in 2014 by winning the annual Kerry Neave/Reg Evans Night Fours at Fairy Meadow Bowling Club.

The mid-week event held over several weeks featured a number of top quality teams from Grade 1 and 2 Illawarra pennant clubs.

The late Kerry Neave was recognised for his enormous contribution to Fairy Meadow and Illawarra bowls with the annual Night Fours tournament named after Neave and the late Reg Evans, a long-serving Illawarra bowls administrator.

A near full-strength Warilla No 1 team clinched the Reg Evans Shield by winning two of the three rinks (61-52) over Towradgi Park in the final.

The three Towradgi No 1 teams featured a mix of players from their Grade 1 and Grade 2 pennant teams and it was a good effort to reach the decider.

New Warilla recruit Matthew McIntyre skipped his team to a 25-15 win over Damian Lateo, while Warilla's Aaron Teys and partners beat Dale Samaha 22-16.

Towradgi bowls coordinator Wes Falconer beat two-time World Cup champion Jeremy Henry 21-14.

The new format of three rinks of fours proved popular.

Warilla have started their 50th anniversary year impressively, with Aaron Teys winning the South Pacific singles title and combining with good mate Matthew McIntyre to take out the Pairs.

A Warilla team skipped by Jeremy Henry then won the Illawarra Fours title, the first Zone 16 championship of the year.

Fresh from a clean sweep of wins against Queensland, Shane Garvey will skip a NSW side in the Test series at Wodonga Bowling Club beginning today.

 Garvey and Balgownie-based Taren Point BC star John Green will play in the same rink for the Blues against Victoria in the two-day series.

 NSW beat Queensland 2.5-0.5 in the Tests in January. Warilla’s Aaron Teys was part of the NSW under-25s who beat Queensland 2-1.

Garvey was impressive against Queensland, skipping his rink to three strong wins.

Teys played triples and pairs for NSW, who lost the opening Test but won the next two.

Warilla’s Jesse Noronha was included in the NSW under-25s squad to take on Victoria.

 The NSW Open squad is Matt Baus (Raymond Terrace), Terry Antram (Soldiers Point), Wayne Turley (Taren Point), Aron Sherriff (skip, Ettalong Memorial); Ray Pearse (Cabramatta), Zel Trbara (Merrylands), Mark Berghofer (St Johns Park), Shane Garvey (skip, Wiseman Park Wollongong City); and Carl Healey (Cabramatta), John Green (Taren Point), Ben Twist (St Johns Park), David Ferguson (skip, The Rules Club, Wagga).


Discuss "Warilla prevail in Night Fours final"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.