Cricket premiers crowned

The region's top young cricketers enjoyed their biggest weekend of the season with junior grand finals in Illawarra and the Combined Illawarra-South Coast competitions.

Shane Clayton sends one down for the Black Magpies.

Shane Clayton sends one down for the Black Magpies.

Corrimal are premiers in the under-10s and U14B. Dapto, The Park Bulls, Black Magpies, Corrimal, Wollongong and Keira won grand finals in U10s through to U16s.

In the combined comp, minor premiers Dapto (8-124) beat Keira (102) in the U14A decider at Reed Park.

The Park Bulls claimed an outright win over Helensburgh in the U16B grand final at Con O'Keefe Oval.

The Burgh were dismissed for 78 in their first innings. Brent Hazelton took 5-10 for The Park, who made 100 in reply.

Helensburgh were bowled out for 67 in their second dig. Minor premiers The Park (5-47) went on to post a five wicket outright win.

In U16A, second-placed Black Magpies, a combined Balgownie-Port Kembla team, beat fourth-placed Wests in their grand final clash at Figtree Oval.

Batting first, Wests made 6-151. The Magpies won by six wickets as opener Billy Dean (51 not out) and Jeremy Lackenby (56) led the way.

In the U10s Illawarra grand final, Corrimal (99) beat Thirroul Blue (32) on first innings.

In the U11s, Wollongong (8-83) beat Thirroul (9-81) by two wickets in a thriller.

In the U12s, Keira (5-109) beat Thirroul (108) in their premiership decider.

Corrimal won the U14B grand final against Helensburgh.

Corrimal made 5-116 then dismissed the Burgh for 84, with Liam Gaffney (26) the top scorer.


Discuss "Cricket premiers crowned"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.