Jonathon Cook snaffles season's top gong

Jonathon Cook (left) with Tim Laws, Graeme Batty and Neel Honavar. Picture: ADAM McLEAN
Jonathon Cook (left) with Tim Laws, Graeme Batty and Neel Honavar. Picture: ADAM McLEAN


Jonathon Cook broke the five-year dominance of Keira clubmate Graeme Batty by claiming the Illawarra Cricketer of the Year award for 2013-14.

Cook helped Keira clinch their first top-grade premiership since 1987-88. He also made his NSW Country debut and starred for Illawarra in the Sydney Twenty20 competition and NSW Country Championships.

Cook collected the prestigious Ring Trophy at Friday night's awards presentation for the top players and major contributors in Illawarra cricket this season.

The Lions all-rounder made valuable runs in the middle order for his club and the Illawarra rep team, and was the local competition's leading wicket taker with 48 scalps at an average of 9.33.

Illawarra skipper Batty was again the domestic competition's leading run scorer with 638 and led Keira to the premiership and Illawarra T20 title.

Among other major awards, Balgownie skipper Adam Berwick won the Joe Waldock Memorial Trophy after an outstanding season with the bat.

He had also guided the Magpies to the minor premiership and their unbeaten regular season.

Northern Districts captain Mark Johnson was recognised for winning the Illawarra batting averages - 567 runs at an average of almost 71.

Helensburgh's Davy Smith featured in 28 dismissals and collected the George Coulton Trophy as Wicketkeeper of the Year.

Wests earned the Umpires Proficiency Shield, and Wests medium-pacer Oscar Oborn-Corby won the Kevin Smith Memorial Trophy as Under-21 Cricketer of the Year,

Paul Brockley collected the Norm Warren Shield for services to cricket in the Illawarra. Wests' Neale Benson was honoured with the Administrators Award.

Also recognised were the competition winners in Illawarra lower grades, plus the outstanding batsmen and bowlers for 2013-14.


Discuss "Jonathon Cook snaffles season's top gong"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.