State bowls selection on horizion for senior Illawarra trio


Rick Malley

Rick Malley

Three Illawarra bowlers who helped NSW win the Australian Senior Sides Championship last year have been invited to trial for spots in the NSW team for the 2014 championships.

Former state senior singles champion Rick Malley, Shellharbour's Mal Pearson and Warilla's Geoff McGillivray played together and won all seven matches in NSW, making it back-to-back championships last year.

All three players are in good form, with Malley helping Windang elevate to Grade 1 pennants in 2015 and McGillivray was part of the Warilla Grade 1 team that won a fourth top grade flag in six years.

A squad of 16 has been invited to the NSW Seniors trials at Cabramatta BC on July 22-23 before the final NSW Seniors team is named.

The 2014 Australian Senior Sides Championship is at Tweed Heads BC from October 7-10.

NSW clinched the 2012 crown at Queanbeyan and 2013 crown at Belmont, Victoria with unbeaten records.

Last month, Illawarra Zone 16 made the NSW Senior Sides Championship semi-finals. It won the state title in 2009 and 2010.

The NSW Seniors squad is Michael Beesley (Beresfield, Zone 2), Neil Ellison (Maitland City, Zone 6), Ray Emerson (Moruya, Zone 7), Robert Hamilton (Orange City, Zone 5), William Hopley (Alder Park, Zone 2), Peter Hughes (Engadine, Zone 13), Trevor Imer (Northmead, Zone 10), Rex Johnston (Tuncurry, Zone 6), Wayne Lambourne (Maitland City, Zone 6), Crawford Linton (Belrose, Zone 9), Rick Malley (Windang, Zone 16), Geoff McGillivray (Warilla, Zone 16), Ken Paulsen (Port City, Zone 14), Mal Pearson (Shellharbour, Zone 16), Miro Perovic (Terrigal, Zone 15), John Roberts (Ettalong Memorial, Zone 15).


Discuss "State bowls selection on horizion for senior Illawarra trio"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.