Wollongong council seeks auditors for anti-fraud committee

Wollongong City Council is looking for experienced auditors and financial assessors to join two advisory committees which scrutinise its budgets and financial strategies to prevent fraud and corruption.

Both committees have five members including three independent members and two councillors.

Independent members are appointed for three-year terms and councillors annually.

The current audit committee comprises Kylie McRae, Brian Ward and Jim Mitchell, and councillors Michelle Blicavs and Greg Petty. Janelle Bond, Ms McRae, Dr Ross Clifton and councillors Chris Connor and John Dorahy sit on the corporate governance committee.

Committees do not have decision-making powers and community members are paid a quarterly meeting fee of $530.

The audit body helps the council determine whether it complies with relevant laws and standards, including policy directions of the Office of Local Government, while the corporate governance committee helps it fulfil responsibilities in relation to its financial affairs.

Members monitor the council's financial performance against its budget, review long-term financial strategies and proposals with "significant expenditure", and assess the council's conflicts of interest, fraud-prevention strategies and corruption risk management.

People can express interest until August 28.


Discuss "Wollongong council seeks auditors for anti-fraud committee"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.