Hampson named as Country captain

Tony Hampson

Tony Hampson

CHAMPIONSHIP-winning wicketkeeper-batsman Tony Hampson was named captain of the Australian Country team after the carnival was held in the Illawarra.

Hampson made 186 runs at 46.5 for the carnival, leading Queensland to the title by winning eight of their 10 matches.

NSW had two players selected, Dubbo opener Jordan Moran and Newcastle’s Pat Darwen.

Darwen finished with a century and made 277 runs for the carnival, as well as 18 wickets.  

South Australia’s Ben Pengelley was named player of the carnival, finishing with 349 runs and taking seven wickets.

NSW bat Rebecca Cady was named player of the women’s tournament, as East Asia Pacific title winner Pauka Siaka was named captain of the Australian Country women’s team.


Teams of the carnival

Men: Nathan Walsh (VIC), Jordan Moran (NSW), Michael Allen (VIC), Ben Pengelley (SA), Jono Whitney (WA), James Spargo (QLD), Pat Darwen (NSW), Julian Crudeli (WA), Tony Hampson (QLD, wk, capt), Sam Winton (QLD), Tom Mathieson (VIC), Ben Boyd (VIC). Coach: Lenny Martin (QLD). 

Women: Brittany Perry (SA), Julie Page (NT), Stephanie Townsend (VIC), Lisa Griffith (NSW), Norma Ovasuru (EAP), Pauke Siaka (EAP, capt), Rebecca Cady (NSW, wk), Chelsea Moscript (VIC), Cara Fiebig (SA), Konio Oala (PNG), Sharni Tansell (SA), Eliza Flynn (QLD). Coaches: Eddie Mansale and Bebe Miyaji (EAP).