NSW fight out title double

VICTORIOUS: NSW player Josh Mayo. Picture: SYLVIA LIBER
VICTORIOUS: NSW player Josh Mayo. Picture: SYLVIA LIBER

In another State of Origin clash NSW beat Queensland 4-3 in the final of the Australian Under 21 hockey championships at the Illawarra Hockey Centre on Friday evening.

The Blues hence repeated a similar score line against the Maroons in a pool match a week ago and a great credit to the five Illawarra players Blake Govers, Tom Miotto, Josh Mayo and brothers Kieren and Daine Richards.

It was Olympian Kookaburra Blake Govers who put the Blues ahead in the second minute of the match when he executed a brilliant scoop into the top corner of the goal. Govers added the second goal from a penalty corner and Isaac Farmilo scored the third goal leading NSW 3-0 into the break.

The NSW women won their title beating WA 2-1. Gerringong's Grace Stewart was the star, scoring the opening goal in the 6th minute from a penalty corner and then scoring the winner in the 28th minute. South Coast reps Riley and Maddison Smith also played.


Discuss "NSW fight out title double"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.