Wests in bid to stop Albion Park's Illawarra hockey double

Pressure: Dapto player Nicole Jane King shadows Wests' Piki McCreedy at Illawarra Hockey Centre.
Pressure: Dapto player Nicole Jane King shadows Wests' Piki McCreedy at Illawarra Hockey Centre.

WESTS will be out to keep the heat on leaders Albion Park when they face a potential finals preview against University on Saturday.

With three rounds remaining in the Illawarra hockey women’s league, Wests are the most likely to deny Albion Park a minor premiership double later this month.

Just two points behind on the ladder, Wests face defining days against Uni and then Park in consecutive games.

However, Albion Park also confront a stern test against Robertson on Saturday.

Robertson are locked in a fierce finals battle and could yet finish third, with Railways Greys also squarely in the mix.

In the men’s competition, Albion Park have surged clear, with 11 wins this season, amassing 94 goals.

They overpowered Wests 10-6 on Sunday, with Kieran and Scott Govers and Jack Hayes in the line-up.

Wests can bounce back against bottom-placed Robertson, while Fairy Meadow will focus on boosting their goal scoring record against perennial heavyweights Uni.

Fairy Meadow have scored just 17 goals in 13 games this year.

Meanwhile, Illawarra played Pakistan under 18s in the second game of their series on Thursday night.


Men (Round 18)


FAIRY MEADOW v UNIVERSITY at George Kolsky Field (1.30pm), WESTS v ROBERTSON at Ross Robinson Field (3pm), Albion Park bye.

Women (Round 20)


AVONDALE v FIGDERRA at Ross Robinson Field (1.30pm), FAIRY MEADOW v GERRINGONG at George Kolsky Field, RAILWAYS GREYS v JAMBEROO at Croom Hockey Centre (2.45pm), ALBION PARK v ROBERTSON at Croom Hockey Centre, UNIVERSITY v WESTS at University (4pm). 

Round 19: University 7 d Fairy Meadow 2, Wests 7 d Jamberoo 2, Robertson 1 drew with Gerringong 1, Dapto 4 d Figderra 0, Railways Greys 2 drew with Avondale 2.

Ladder: Albion Park 52, Wests 50, University 38, Railways Greys 34, Robertson 34, Avondale 29, Gerringong 25, Dapto 21, Fairy Meadow 21, Jamberoo 14, Figderra 5.