Wollongong lord mayoral election | How your suburb voted

The results of the 2017 Wollongong and Shellharbour council elections have now been declared. 

The Mercury has analysed the first preferences in the Wollongong lord mayoral vote to reveal who the favoured contender was in each suburb. 

Not surprisingly, incumbent lord mayor Gordon Bradbery – who was officially re-elected at the weekend – won most of the 66 booths where votes could be lodged. 

Cr Bradbery, an independent, won 43 of the 66 polling places, which included election day booths across the Wollongong Local Government Area and pre-poll centres at Dapto, Thirroul, Wollongong and Sydney Town Hall.

Labor’s lord mayoral contender David Brown won 18 booths, the Greens’ Mithra Cox topped the polls at three of them and the Liberal Party's John Dorahy had wins at two booths.

Explore the interactive map above to see which candidate won each booth.

The new Wollongong City Council is as follows:

  • Janice KERSHAW (LAB) 
  • Leigh COLACINO (LIB) 
  • Mithra COX (GRN) 
  • Jenelle RIMMER (LAB)
  • David BROWN (LAB)
  • John DORAHY (LIB)
  • Cath BLAKEY (GRN)
  • Tania BROWN (LAB)
  • Vicky KING (LAB)
  • Chris CONNOR (LAB) 
  • Cameron WALTERS (LIB)

The new Shellharbour City Council is made up of the follow people:

  • Marianne SALIBA (LAB)
  • Nathan CATTELL (LIB)
  • Kellie MARSH (IND)
  • Robert PETRESKI (LAB)
  • Peter MORAN (IND)
  • Moira HAMILTON
  • John MURRAY (IND)


Discuss "How your suburb voted in Wollongong lord mayoral election"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.