Illawarra Steelers reward junior stars at annual presentation

The Illawarra Steelers have celebrated a successful junior rugby league season with their annual presentation evening. 

Sullivan and Antrobus

Sullivan and Antrobus

The club’s junior teams all qualified for the finals, with the Tarsha Gale Cup side undefeated for much of the season until injuries crippled their campaign in the finals.

Tarsha Gale graduate and St George Illawarra NRL Women’s signing Rikeyha Horne was on hand to present the awards, with the Kezie Apps Player of the Year trophy presented to Maddison Weatherall. 

The centre played a key role in the team’s success, breaking games open with her damaging running and impressive footwork. Ulladulla-based prop Hannah England was awarded the coaches award after a much improved season. 

Another frontrower was rewarded for his contributions to the Steelers, with Josh Coric winning the Harrold Matthews Player of the Year award.

Five-eighth Talatau Amone received the coaches award to add to a string of honours received this season. 

Despite being an under 16 player, Amone was selected to the NSW Combined High Schools Opens team last month and he featured in the NSW Under 16s clash with Pasifika at Belmore Oval on Saturday afternoon. 

Amone was joined in the NSW squad by Illawarra teammates Brandon Morkos and Tyrell Sloan. 

St George Illawarra Dragons coach Paul McGregor was also in attendance at the awards, delivering a speech and presenting the SG Ball trophies. 

Bailey Antrobus received the coaches award after an impressive comeback season following an injury which ruled him out of the entire 2017 campaign. Another half won the player of the year, with Jayden Sullivan taking home the Rick Posetti trophy. 

The season also saw Jalal Bazzaz selected to represent NSW Under 18s in their 16-10 victory over Queensland ahead of State of Origin I at the MCG.