Top talent chasing Zone 16 bowls trophies


A packed field is chasing a Zone 16 title with the opening rounds of the President's Reserve Singles at a host of clubs this weekend.

Dapto Citizens are headquarters for the quarter-finals through to the final of the championship, open to pennant bowlers in grades five to seven over the past two years.

Warilla's Scott Kicks is the defending champion and plays his opening match at Figtree RSL on Saturday.

Dapto Citizens, Figtree RSL, plus Dapto, Kiama, Oak Flats, Bellambi and Thirroul host matches on Saturday.

Citos host the final on Sunday week, June 22.

Meanwhile, a top-class field including defending champion Ted Clarke and Warilla clubmate Geoff McGillivray have nominated for the Illawarra Senior Singles, which begins with two rounds on Saturday.

With the winner qualifying to play in the state senior finals and possibly the Australian finals, there is plenty of top players nominated this year.

Clarke and McGillivray are among Illawarra's best bowlers and will be hard to beat in the Senior Singles.

Other talented players include two-time champion Rick Malley (Windang) Corrimal's Ken Hunt and Towradgi's Brian Harriott. The final is at Dapto Citizens on June 22.


Discuss "Top talent chasing Zone 16 bowls trophies"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.