Eureka, she’s done it! Macinley Butson named as NSW's top Young Australian of the Year

Kate McIlwain
By Kate McIlwain
Updated November 13 2017 - 9:23am, first published 8:00am
What a star: Mangerton teenager Macinley Butson has been named the NSW Young Australian of the Year. Picture: Twitter.

The Illawarra’s stellar young scientist Macinley Butson has been named the 2018 NSW Young Australian of the Year.


Kate McIlwain

Kate McIlwain


For the past 11 years, I've helped the Illawarra Mercury set the news agenda across the region. In that time I've covered breaking news, education, politics, urban affairs, council, environment, data journalism and development news. More recently, I became the paper's health reporter - covering the stories of Illawarra workers and residents two years into a global pandemic and at a time where our health systems are stretched to the limit.

Get the latest Wollongong news in your inbox

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date.

We care about the protection of your data. Read our Privacy Policy.